Shortlist unveiled for prestigious renewables awards



The Renewable Energy Association (REA) has revealed the shortlisted companies and individuals that will vie for accolades at the eighth annual British Renewable Energy Awards in June.

The REA – the trade body for the renewables industry – recently conducted a confidence survey among its members, with 96% saying they were apprehensive about whether the UK can meet its 2020 renewables target.

The awards evening will therefore be a chance to set aside policy worries and focus instead on championing innovation and excellence across the wide-ranging sector.

Nominees include Good Energy – the UK’s only 100% renewable electricity supplier – which recently unveiled an encouraging set of annual results, and is up for the Company Award.

Westmill Solar Co-operative is in the running for the Community Award, after successfully raising money through a share offer to install 21,000 solar panels at a site in Oxfordshire.

The Lancashire county pension fund, which invested £12m in the Westmill project, is included in the Pioneer Award category, which is sponsored by Blue & Green Tomorrow.

Meanwhile, Lightsource Renewable Energy and Solarcentury – the companies behind that gave a Cambridgeshire waste treatment plant a solar makeover in September – are up for the Leadership and Project Award respectively. Solarcentury’s inclusion is because of its role in transforming Blackfriars bridge into London’s largest solar development.

As always, the shortlist for this year’s awards reflects the diversity, diligence and ingenuity of the UK renewables industry”, said Gaynor Hartnell, the REA’s chief executive who earlier this year said she would be stepping down from her role.

We have lifelong renewables champions alongside exciting young entrepreneurs. Small start-ups showing their peers how it’s done, and huge projects setting a path for others to follow.

These fascinating stories reveal how renewable energy is powering society, heating homes and businesses and getting us from A to B.”

Former Conservative politician Michael Portillo is after dinner speaker at the event, which takes place at the Jumeirah Carlton Hotel in London on June 13. Tickets are available through the REA’s website and the full shortlist can be found below.

Champion Award

John Baldwin – CNG Services

Peter Fraenkel – Fraenkel-Wright

David Handley – Renewable Energy Systems

Clare Lukehurst – IEA Task 37

Mark Shorrock – Tidal Lagoon Power

Guy Watson – Dulas

Community Award

Devon Association for Renewable Energy


TGV Hydro

Westmill Solar Co-operative

Company Award

Forest Fuels

Gentoo Group

Good Energy

Marches Biogas

Innovation Award

3sun Group


Evergreen Gas

Oxford PV

Installer Award

Bright Green Energy

British Gas New Energy & Walsall Housing Group


Feed It Green

Leadership Award

J V Energen

Lightsource Renewable Energy

Vale Green Energy

Pioneer Award (sponsored by Blue & Green Tomorrow)

Dytecna Ltd

Eco Sustainable Solutions

Golden Gates Housing Trust

Lancashire County Pension Fund

Tamar Energy

Vale Green Energy

Project Award (sponsored by reNews)

Clearfleau – Dailauine anaerobic digestion plant

Ignis Biomass – Wick district heating scheme

J V Energen/Scotia Gas Networks – Poundbury biomethane injection project

Solarcentury – Blackfriars solar bridge

Skills Development Award

3sun Group

A P Chant Renewable Energy

Clarke Energy

NatWest Bank

Vivergo Fuels

Further reading:

96% of the renewables industry apprehensive about UK targets

No decarbonisation target in energy bill, but government promises investment certainty

The energy bill: it’s time to talk about ‘energy and climate security’

Renewables: the UK’s new industrial revolution

The Guide to Limitless Clean Energy 2012


Exit mobile version