Connect with us
fringe By alixroth Via Flickr fringe By alixroth Via Flickr


Edinburgh Fringe : Shortlist Announced For Sustainable Practice Award



The shortlist for the 2016 Edinburgh Fringe Sustainable Practice Award (EFSPA) has been announced by Creative Carbon Scotland & the Center for Sustainable Practice in the Arts together with their media partner the List magazine and sponsors PR Print & Design and Arts as well as Business Scotland’s New Arts Sponsorship Grant.

The EFSPA is a collaboration between Creative Carbon Scotland and the Center for Sustainable Practice in the Arts. Each year it is given to a production that exhibits high quality artistic integrity and engages the company and audiences with the issues of sustainability in all of its forms. It celebrates different approaches to sustainable practice both in content and in the production of shows, and rewards those that take responsibility for their environmental impact and think creatively about how the arts can help grow a sustainable world.

This year the number and quality of applications was exceptionally high. The application toolkit encompassed many approaches and angles on sustainability as well as offering guidance and advice to productions on how to begin or further increase their engagement with the topic. The 24 shortlisted shows are as follows (in alphabetical order):

· Adventures of a Redheaded Coffee shop Girl, Rebecca Perry Productions

· Allison After A Fire, Colorado Underground

· Are We Stronger Than Winston?, VOU Fiji Dance

· Bend in the River, Deep Water Theatre Collective

· Bildraum, Atelier Bildraum

· Bird, Sita Pieraccini in association with Feral

· Cold/Warm, So Be It

· Cosmic Fear, or the Day Brad Pitt got Paranoia, Empty Deck

· Delivery #16, The Gift giver Co-op

· Eden, Less Theatre

· Erin, Errol and the Earth Creatures, Modest Predicament

· Eurohouse, Nasi Voutsas and Bertrand Lesca

· Generation Zero, Lamphouse Theatre

· Keep the Kids Out, Cabaret of Dangerous Ideas

· One Day Moko, Portable Union

· Ribbet Ribbet Croak, Moulded

· Romeo & Juliet, HandleBards

· Sheltered, Bellyfeel Theatre

· The Hours Before We Wake, Tremolo Theatre

· The Nine Lives of Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, Vagabond Productions

· The Rooster Rebellion, Mariani-Oliver Company

· The Story of Mr B, Shake Shake Theatre

· Trashed, Bears & Vagabonds Productions

· World Without Us, Ontroerend Goed, Theatre Royal Plymouth, Vooruit, Richard Jordan Productions

The award will be presented to the winning production in a ceremony on 26 August at the Festival Theatre, a Green Arts Initiative Venue in Edinburgh. Comedian Holly Burn will host the ceremony and give away the award piece created by local maker Coral Mallow. Previous winners of the award include a satirical comedy on commercialism and the food industry; a show with a real allotment for a set; an allegorical puppet-show of beloved tale The Man Who Planted Trees; and a playful look at political protest, not to mention Shakespeare on a bicycle.




Like our Facebook Page