Community Energy Awards Shortlist Announced

Community Energy Awards Shortlist Announced

On 3rd September 2016, the community energy industry will gather in Oxford for the third time to showcase and celebrate the communities, projects and individuals that are at the forefront of the community energy revolution.


The last year has been a busy and turbulent one in the Community Energy sector. To have received such a high number and calibre of deserving nominations has demonstrated to the collaborative organisers, Community Energy England and Community Energy Wales, the resilience and motivation that exists across the country to push the community energy ethos forward. The difficult task of deciding on the winner lays in the hands of the following judges: Lord Bourne, Anna Watson, Anne-Claire Leydier, Chris Blake, Ed Davey, Jon Halle, Merlin Hyman and Ramsay Dunning. The short lists from which they will decide are as follows (for a more detailed version of this list see the CEE website):

Community Renewable Energy Project Award

The most commendable sustainable electricity generation project undertaken by a community group.

Related Articles

    Awel Coop
    Cilgwyn Community
    Exeter Community Energy
    Meadow Blue Community Energy
    Plymouth Energy Community Renewables (PEC)
    Southill Community Energy
    Ynni Anafon Energy

    Community Energy Saving Award

    The community group which has undertaken the most inspiring energy conservation and/or management project.

    Brighton & Hove Energy Services Cooperative
    Sport in DesFord
    Sutton Coldfield Quaker Meeting
    Westmill Sustainable Energy Trust (WeSET)

    Local Authority Partner Award

    The Local Authority which has done most to help local, community energy organisations through partnering, investing or other support.

    Bristol City Council’s Energy Service
    Devon County Council
    Energise Barnsley
    Plymouth City Council
    Swansea City and County Council

    Community Energy Funding Award

    The community group and its funders and advisers, which have achieved the most inspiring results in bringing investment into the sector.

    Energise Barnsley
    Marks and Spencer
    Mongoose Energy
    The Naturesave Trust
    and Naturesave Policies Ltd

    Collaboration Award

    The most commendable collaboration between community and commercial / public / third sector partners.

    Cyd Ynni
    Energy Saving Trust / Community Energy Hub
    Harbury Energy Initiative
    Repower Balcombe
    Rosehill and Iffley Low Carbon
    South West Water & Wadebridge Renewable Energy Network (SWW & WREN)

    Community Energy Champion Award

    The individual who has done most to advance the community energy sector over recent years.

    Alistair Macpherson – Plymouth Energy Community
    Barbara Hammond – Low Carbon hub
    Chris Jardine – Joju Solar
    Dan Nicholls – Cornwall Council
    Fiona Booth – DECC
    Ian Bloomfield – Durham County Council
    Leo Murray – 10:10
    Mike Smyth – Energy4All
    Sonya Bedford – Stephens Scown


    Photos from last year’s awards:


    Screen Shot 2016-07-28 at 22.55.27 Screen Shot 2016-07-28 at 22.55.34 Screen Shot 2016-07-28 at 22.55.47