Connect with us


Shortlist revealed for FT/IFC Sustainable Finance Awards



After attracting a record number of entries, the Financial Times (FT) and the International Finance Corporation (IFC) have unveiled the shortlist for the 2013 Sustainable Finance Awards – taking place in June at London’s InterContinental Hotel on Park Lane.

The Co-operative Banking Group, Standard Chartered and Bridges Ventures were among the UK firms to be recognised with gongs in 2012. The latter two appear on the shortlist for a second consecutive year.

Also in the running is the German division of WHEB Partners – the group co-founded by Ben Goldsmith that provides investment solutions to some of the most urgent sustainability challenges.

Russia’s Commercial Bank Center-Invest, the German GLS Bank and the Industrial Development Bank of Turkey are the three institutions vying for European sustainable bank of the year.

Meanwhile, Banco Santander of Spain and US-based Morgan Stanley join Standard Chartered in the sustainable global bank of the year category.

The 2013 awards attracted over 250 nominations – a new record for the event. These came from 161 financial institutions and 50 non-financial groups that were based in nearly 60 countries.

Blue & Green Tomorrow readers can claim a 20% discount on tickets for the awards evening and the preceding conference, which has attracted a whole host of speakers and panellists from the sustainable finance industry. A full list can be found here.

Simply quote the code FTBGT when booking your place.

See below for the full shortlist:

Sustainable Bank of the Year

– Africa/Middle East

Bank of Palestine, West Bank

BMCE Bank, Morocco

Standard Bank, South Africa

– Americas

Banco Santander Brasil, Brazil

Caixa Económica Federal, Brazil

Grupo Financiero Banorte, Mexico

– Asia/Pacific

Industrial Bank, China

Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation, Japan

YES Bank, India

– Europe

Commercial Bank Center-Invest, Russia

GLS Bank, Germany

Industrial Development Bank of Turkey (TSKB)

Sustainable Global Bank of the Year

Banco Santander, Spain

Morgan Stanley, US

Standard Chartered, UK

Sustainable Investor of The Year

Aavishkaar Venture Management Services, India

Aloe Private Equity, UK

Bridges Ventures, UK

EcoEnterprises Fund, Costa Rica

Impax Asset Management, UK

LeapFrog Investments, Australia

Root Capital, US

Sustainable Investment of The Year

Actis, UK

Banco Itaú BBA, Brazil

M-KOPA, Kenya

Morgan Stanley, US

Sindicatum Sustainable Resources, Singapore

WHEB Partners, Germany

WRAP (Waste & Resources Action Programme), UK

Technology In Sustainable Finance

Etisalat, UAE

FINO PayTech, India

Grupo Financiero Banorte, Mexico

M-KOPA, Kenya

Solarkiosk, Germany

Achievement in Inclusive Business

Alqueria Dairy, Colombia

Interswitch, Nigeria

Kenya Tea Development Agency

Manila Water, Philippines

Universitaria Minuto de Dios, Colombia

Further reading:

Speakers announced for FT/IFC Sustainable Finance Conference

Inspiring innovation in sustainable finance: FT/IFC Conference

FT/IFC Sustainable Finance Awards: the winners

The Guide to Sustainable Investment 2013


Like our Facebook Page