Connect with us


Energy Institute announces its 2015 shortlist for energy industry awards



The Energy Institute (EI) Awards’ judging panel, made up of 20 energy professionals representing a variety of sectors and specialisms, have shortlisted the entries for this year’s EI Awards competition.

The EI Awards promote excellence and innovation in energy and acknowledge the important contribution made to society by those working in the sector. The awards will be presented to the winners by Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson DBE, former paralympic athlete, on 12 November at the Sheraton Park Lane Hotel, London.

Lynda Armstrong OBE FEI, Chair of Trustees, British Safety Council, and Chair of the EI Awards’ judging panel, says, ‘The EI Awards recognise and celebrate the best of the global energy sector. Having worked in energy for more than 35 years, I was honoured to support this competition as chair of the judging panel. The number, quality and diversity of submissions each year continue to impress me and my fellow judges. The entries show a real commitment to the profession, and demonstrate how the energy sector can be a force for positive change in what is a challenging environment to work in. We have a fantastic shortlist of projects that showcase a wide range of technologies and innovation across varied industries and I look forward to joining the EI on 12 November to announce this year’s winners.’

This year’s shortlisted entries are:

Communication, sponsored by thirdperson

·         BP for BP Helios – illuminating the inspiring stories of over 100,000 energy specialists

·         Shell for Achieving Goal Zero with Safety day

·         Step Change in Safety for Tea Shack News

·         SSE for its War on Watts internal employee engagement and behavioural change campaign 

Community Initiative, sponsored by Nexen

·         Borough of Poole for its Green Positive Environmental Action (PEA) scheme

·         Cenergist for the Hackney Homes Communal Heating project

·         Community Energy Scotland for is Community Energy Development programme in Malawi

·         FNS for Bootle2020 – using sustainable energy to breathe new life into Bootle for future generations

Energy Champion

·         Mark Burrows CEnv CEng FEI Chartered Energy Manager, Energy Solutions Specialist, Siemens

·         Eur Ing Robert Diamond CEnv CEng FEI Chartered Energy Engineer, Sustainability Associate, Ingleton Wood

·         Kate Simpson, Assistant Carbon Management Consultant, Grontmij

Energy Excellence

·         Bouygues Energies and Services UK FM for Energy Interaction – Optimum Performance Toolkit

·         Keysource for ecofris – the highly efficient cooling solution

·         National Grid for its International Excellence project

·         National Grid for the T-pylon – a new radical design of high voltage electricity pylons for the UK

·         UK Power Networks for its Smarter Network Storage project

Environment, sponsored by Certas Energy

·         Aggreko for helping Sibanye Gold’s Beatrix Mine utilise clean energy

·         Anglian Water @one Alliance for its Sustainability in Design initiative

·         Walsh Ecuador and Petroamazonas for their Artificial Canopy Bridges mitigating fragmentation of arboreal habitat in petroleum fields in Ecuador

Innovation, sponsored by Plant Integrity Management

·         RJM International for its new Coal and Biomass-fired ultra-low NOx burner

·         SGS for its Advanced Wet Gas Metering System utilising cyclonic separation and 3-phase tracer flow technology

·         Victaulic for its Victaulic Vortex™ Hybrid Fire Suppression System

Safety, sponsored by Shell

·         BG Group for Enabling better process safety performance through improved human factors

·         Critical Team Performance for the Introduction of Well Operations Crew Resource Management training and coaching

·         Karen McCombie for her Safety Representative Revival Project at Sodexo

·         National Grid Grain LNG for Always prepared – emergency incident management system

·         UK Petroleum Industry Association for its Safe Loading Pass Scheme


·         Airedale International Air Conditioning for its Energy-saving computer room air conditioning retrofit programme

·         Churchill Drilling Tools for its HyPR HoleSaver tool

·         Flow for its Flow boiler

·         Meta Downhole for Meta MorphPackers

Young Energy Professional of the Year, sponsored by Aramco

·         Vera Karpushenko, Process Safety Engineer, KBR

·         Dr Marek Kubik GradEI, Customer Solutions & Commercial Projects Manager, AES

·         Rory O’Sullivan GradEI, Founder, Energy Process Developments

·         Prashant Thapar MEI, Lead Power Engineer, Parsons Brinckerhoff

To book tickets to attend the EI Awards ceremony and for more information, visit

Continue Reading

Like our Facebook Page